Ready to write?

Standard

I’ve spent the afternoon Christmas shopping and, as I trudged through the crowds and the sleet carrying far too many bags, I mulled over my options for this post. I finally decided to begin at the beginning. When I say decided, I just mean settled on the idea for long enough to get this written and posted. You see I’m not really one hundred percent sure where or how to begin, and that is one of my biggest writing blocks, but we’ll get on to that another time.

Everything I’ve read on writing says the key thing is, obviously enough, to write. More recent articles extoll the virtues of blogging as a way to get into the habit of writing and expressing yourself regularly, whilst also providing a showcase for your writing skills. I can see the value in this, so that is why I’m here. I’m not however convinced I can see the value of what I have to say… we’ll get onto that another time too I think.

I want to use this blog to document, journal, diary etc, my exploration of my writing skills. I am taking something that I feel, in my core, is something I should be doing, and could maybe even make money doing, and exploring whether or not that is a reality or simply a pipe dream. My intention is that this blog follows and hopefully informs that journey. Whether or not it actually works that way remains to be seen. For now, however, you at least have an idea of what we’re doing here.

Oh, if you’re Christmas shopping over the next few days, I would recommend thick gloves, not to keep you warm, but to protect your hands from the bite of bag handles….

Leave a Reply

